Virtual Book Launch 4 June 2020

El legado cinematográfico de Bigas Luna
ed. Santiago Fouz Hernández (Madrid: Tirant lo Blanch, 2020).

While we wait for the Bigas Luna Tribute events to resume, we are delighted to announce the virtual launch of the book El legado cinematográfico de Bigas Luna (Tirant lo Blanch, 2020). The event will be moderated by Dr Esther Gimeno Ugalde (University of Vienna) and will include live presentations/conversations with the editor, Santiago Fouz Hernández (Durham University), and 10 of the book contributors: Ralf Junkerjürgen (U. Regensburg), Antonio Lázaro Reboll (U. Kent), Abigail Loxham (U. Liverpool), Alfredo Martínez Expósito (U. Melbourne), Alejandro Melero (U. Carlos III Madrid), Gonzalo M Pavés (U. La Laguna), Jorge Pérez (U. Texas at Austin), Carolina Sanabria (U. Costa Rica) and H Rosi Song (U. Durham). The authors will discuss each of Bigas Luna’s 18 feature films – all of which are analysed in the book – from Tatuaje (1976) to the posthumous BigasxBigas (2016) – focusing on issues such as film genre, acting and performance, national identity, gender and sexuality or visual leitmotifs.

The hour-long event will be broadcast on Youtube/canalTirant on Thursday 4 June 2020 from 7.30pm Spain/CET (6.30pm UK, 1.30pm EST).

Click here for a preview of the first few pages of the book.

NB
Bigas Luna Tribute events planned for 2020 in New York City and Madrid are currently postponed due to Covid-19. We are looking forward to resuming our programme of events as soon as it is safe to do so.